top of page


RI District 3240



Rotary International District 3240 is one of the largest District of Rotary International covering 2.95,607 Sq Km of land which closeted within these Perimeters is a land of Snow clad, mountains, hills, expansive plains, streams, majestic Rivers and miles of lands carpeted by large green tea bushes. 

Rotary International 3240 was part of the Rotary International District 3290 and was bifurcated from District 3291 in the year 1990-91. It was the beginning of a new era in Rotary International and Rtn. PDG Ramesh Agarwal was the Charter District Governor of Rotary International District 3240 from Rotary Club of Jorhat and Charter District Rotaract Representative was Late PDRR Navin Kumar Jain from Rotaract Club of Asansol. Rotary International District 3240 lies in the Northeastern part of the Indian subcontinent between Nepal, China, Bhutan, Myanmar and Bangladesh. Rotary International District 3240 is a district formed in the year 1990 and encompasses nine states of India Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura and eight revenue districts of Bengal. (Barddhaman, Birbhum, Malda. Dakshin Dinajpur, Uttar Dinajpur, Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri & Cooch Bihar).

This district has staggering topographical variations in its cultural diversity and hence the coexistence of a number of ethnic groups, religions, languages, and cultures which make this district attractive for visitors and Tourist attractions. Along with cultural heritage and diversity, Rotary International District 3240 is economically sound due to the industrial Hub of Durgapur and Asansol, Coalfield of part of Raniganj Petroleum and Tea manufacture of Assam, Orange and Cardamom groves of milk and horticulture product of Sikkim and Kalimpong. Members of Rotary International District 3240 are also proud of being produced by two Nobel laureates, Rabindra Nath Tagore and Amartya Sen and Sports Icon like Mary Com from Manipur, Deepa Karmakar from Tripura and many others.

bottom of page